NZ Vs BAN: New Zealand Announces A Strong Squad For ODI Series Against Bangladesh

NZ vs BAN: New Zealand Announces a Strong Squad for ODI Series Against Bangladesh | New Zealand vs Bangladesh ODI Series 2023
NZ vs BAN: New Zealand’s ODI Squad

NZ vs BAN: New Zealand Announces a Strong Squad for ODI Series Against Bangladesh | New Zealand vs Bangladesh ODI Series 2023: The New Zealand Cricket Board has announced an ODI squad of 14 members for the upcoming ODI series against Bangladesh. Three young players have been added to the Squad and are expected to make their ODI debut for New Zealand.

Tom Latham will lead the New Zealand ODI side in the absence of Kane Williamson, whereas some key bowlers, including Trent Boult and Tim Southee, were rested for this ODI series against Bangladesh. Seeing how Tom Latham will lead the young side on their home grounds will be exciting.

The Squad looks solid and well-balanced, especially in the batting department, which includes batters like Rachin Ravindra, Mark Chapman, and Henry Nicholls. New Zealand’s Bowling Department looks inexperienced, as Adam Milne and Ish Sodhi are the only two experienced bowlers in the Squad. Kyle Jamieson has played many ODI internationals, but he hasn’t played regular cricket in the past two years.

The three-match ODI series between New Zealand and Bangladesh will start from December 17, 2023, to December 23, 2023. The first ODI match will be played at the University Oval in Dunedin, the second ODI match will be played at Saxton Oval in Nelson, and the last and third ODI will be played at McLean Park in Napier.

Senior players rested for ODIs:

Many senior players were rested for the three-match ODI series against Bangladesh on their home soil. The Key batters like Kane Williamson, Devon Conway, Daryl Mitchell, and Glenn Phillips are rested for this series. The Key Bowlers like Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Mitchell Santner, and Lockie Ferguson were also rested for the ODI series.

Almost the main Squad is rested for the ODI series as they are preparing for the ICC Men’s T20I World Cup 2024, which is scheduled in June 2024. There will be a tight schedule for the teams. Hence, they are Focusing on T20I cricket for the T20 World Cup 2024 and Test cricket for the ICC World Test Championship 2023-25.

NZ vs BAN 2023, New Zealand’s ODI Squad:

New Zealand squad: Tom Latham, Finn Allen, Tom Blundell, Mark Chapman, Will Young, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Kyle Jamieson, Adam Milne, Henry Nicholls, Will O’Rourke, Rachin Ravindra, Ish Sodhi (1st ODI only), Adi Ashok (2nd & 3rd ODI only).

Read This Also: ICC Men’s T20I Player Rankings, No Rohit & Virat in TOP 10, Ravi Bishnoi Becomes No.1 T20I Bowler After IND vs AUS T20I series | ICC Men’s T20I Player Standings

For More, Check The Official Site: ICC

Leave a Comment